ELLIS COUNTY — Roughly seven and a half percent of registered voters in Ellis County voted in the joint city, school district and Ellis County Precinct 4 election that concluded May 6. With those votes tallied, residents will soon see a new mayor in Maypearl, two new school board members in Waxahachie and Midlothian and the sale of beer and wine outside of the Midlothian city limits.

According to the Ellis County Elections Office, 8,062 of the 105,959 registered voters in Ellis County cast ballots in the election, with 2,846 voting on Election Day. The numbers do not include those who voted in Red Oak and Maypearl, as the office was not contracted to administer those respective elections.


Although not as highly contested as neighboring Waxahachie, the races to fill two seats on the Midlothian ISD Board of Trustees each came down to fewer than 300 votes. Both races also ended with a new face elected to fill the seats.

Andrea Walton defeated Jimmy Beaudoin 1,372 to 1,042 for Place 7 on the board.

On Monday afternoon, Walton extended a "huge thank you" to those who backed her vision for Midlothian ISD at the ballot box.

"Midlothian is a special community that is based in faith with leaders who are focused on building bridges," Walton said. "My service as School Board Trustee, Place 7 will include transparency, accountability and independent, innovative thinking. I welcome open feedback or conversation over coffee, email, or text — from anyone in the community. I look forward to the future with everyone working together, as one community, with compassion and a commitment to serving our students and teachers!"

Jimmy Beaudoin stated on his campaign's Facebook page that he wanted to "say thank you to everyone that believed in me and cared enough to give their votes to me. I want to congratulate Mrs. Andrea Walton and Mrs. Tami Tobey on their victories! I know they will work to continue to move our district to the next level."

In the race for Place 6, Carl Smith was defeated by Tami Tobey 1,115 votes to 1,304.

"Friends, I'm completely overwhelmed with gratitude for the support you have shown me over the past few months," stated Tobey on her campaign's Facebook page. "I look forward to being your board member and being you and your child's voice. Thank you again from the bottom of my heart for your vote. I am so excited to serve you and your children. And to be a champion for your children and their teachers!"


Nearly 4,000 votes were cast for the six candidates vying for one of two seats on the Waxahachie ISD Board of Trustees. With four candidates receiving over 800 votes, each, Judd McCutchen (962) and Clay Schoolfield (943) were chosen to represent the district.

"We are grateful to all of the candidates for their willingness to serve our school district and our community," stated WISD Superintendent Dr. Jeremy Glenn in a press release. "We look forward to working with Mr. McCutchen and Mr. Schoolfield as we continue to take our district to the next level."

Glenn also stated the district is "appreciative of the hard work and dedication of Ms. [Kim] Kriegel and Mr. [Wes] Winn over the past three years. They have accomplished many great things during their time on the board."

Kriegel and Winn were both elected in 2014. Winn did not seek reelection, while Kriegel finished with 892 votes.


After a four-year run, Maypearl residents have decided to hand the mayoral title to a new individual, as Kelly Jacobson defeated Maypearl Mayor Adele Mooney 102-36. Mooney first took office in May 2013.

"The campaign is over and now the work begins. I want to thank the community of Maypearl for the votes of confidence and your words of support," Jacobson posted to Facebook shortly after the results were posted. "I enjoyed meeting and visiting with you all as I was campaigning. The people have spoken, and I am ready to bring the community together and get started. I want to be proactive and transparent during my term, and I want to get to know what you are thinking. Thank you again. It was a good race."

Voters also voted 104-11 in favor of a special proposition and chose Kathy Wiggins, John Wayne Pruitt and Michael Harris as the three winners for three seats on the Maypearl City Council.

Wiggins won in a runaway, while Harris (58) and Pruitt (52) pulled just enough votes to edge Barbara Pruitt (51).

According to the notice of election distributed by City of Maypearl, the proposition was the reauthorization of the local sales and use tax at the rate of one-fourth of one percent to "continue providing revenue for maintenance and repair of municipal streets."


Travis M. Smith, @Travis5mith

(469) 517-1470