The Waxahachie Indian boys soccer team had one of its best years in program history this season.

Waxahachie led district for most of the season before ending in second place. The squad also went to overtime in its first round playoff game before coming up just short.

For that strong effort, several Indians were recognized when the 15-4A all-district honors were announced last week.

Waxahachieís junior captain Ivan Anaya took the teamís top honor by being named Utility Player of the Year. He could score goals and play lockdown defense seamlessly during the season.†

Senior defenders Luke Shatwell and Serafin Medina, senior forward Dylan McLain and junior midfielder Jose Garcia earned first team all-district honors.

McLain was among the team leaders in goals scored and Shatwell, Medina and Garcia played great defense to lead the Indians. Medina and Shatwell were team captains the last two seasons thanks to their play. Medina gave his all despite injuries during the season.

The team also had four second-team members of the all-district team. Senior defender Danny Villalpando, junior goalie Kyle Downs and junior midfielders Michael McNabb and Matthew Berning.

Downs missed the first month of the season, but came up with several big plays in district play. McNabb and Berning each scored clutch district goals. McNabb scored the teamís lone goal in the playoff game to tie the score in the final five minutes of regulation. Berning scored in the final few minutes to help the Indians get a tie against Corsicana. Villalpando made several big plays, including a game-saving play in the playoff game.

Waxahachie sophomore defenders Adam Velazquez and Kevin Clark improved immensily throughout the season to earn all-district honorable mention awards. Both players showed their youth at the beginning of the year, but came around strong once district play started. Both will be relied on heavily next season when Shatwell and Medina graduate.

Red Oak senior forward Jeremiah Garcia was named the districtís Most Valuable Player as he led the district in goals scored.†

Ennisí Marcellus Hill was named the districtís Offensive Player of the Year. Red Oakís Jonathan Ramirez was the districtís Defensive Player of the Year.

Senior goalies Eduardo Gutierrez, of Ennis, and Irving Eslava, of Lancaster were named the districtís co-Goalies of the Year.

Lancaster freshman Cruz Rivas was the districtís Newcomer of the Year. Ennisí head coach Brent Stapleton was named the districtís Coach of the Year after leading the Lions to a district title.

Other first-team†


Alex Sanchez, Esequiel Gonzalez, Omar Flores, Xavier Garcia and Cristian Ramirez - Ennis

Edgar Trejo, Richard Smith and Christopher Acosta - Red Oak

Oscar Correa and Abel Ojeda - Ferris

Michael Roman - Corsicana

Brent Griffin - Lancaster