By Bill Spinks

The Midlothian Mirror is proud to announce its second annual All-Ellis County girls’ basketball team as part of its countywide celebration of high school sports all-stars.

These 30 student-athletes and three head coaches are featured in a two-page graphic on Pages B4 and B5 of this week’s paper.

The Mirror staff began the All-Ellis County high school all-star preps awards program last year. These include awards for individual players and coaches of the year.

Finalists for superlative awards for girls’ basketball are being announced today; the winners will be announced during the All-Ellis County Preps Awards Show, a star-studded broadcast that will be available at no charge at 6 p.m. on Thursday, June 18. The show will feature more than 20 professional athletes as hosts and award announcers, and provide the community with an on-demand broadcast.

The All-Ellis County girls’ basketball team was chosen based on a combination of criteria: season statistics, team advancement in the playoffs, postseason honors achieved, previous All-Ellis County selections, recommendations from head coaches, and direct observation of players by the Mirror staff.

The All-Ellis County boys’ basketball team will be announced next week.

Members of the All-Ellis County 2019-20 Girls’ Basketball Team are, listed alphabetically:

• Player of the Year Finalists

– Lillie Beason, Maypearl

– Breanna Davis, Red Oak

– Maykayla Jackson, Midlothian

• Coach of the Year finalists

– Darren Eubanks, Red Oak

– Greg Kudrna, Maypearl

– Amy Tennison, Midlothian

• First team

– Sol Cabuto, Maypearl

– Jerica Henderson, Midlothian

– Aniyah Johnson, Red Oak

– Danielle Wallace, Mid. Heritage

– Mya Williams, Waxahachie

• Second team

– Micah Cooper, Red Oak

– Hadlee Gibson, Maypearl

– Shaniaya Johnson, Italy

– Rayna Ross, Waxahachie

– Tiffany Sadler, Palmer

• Honorable mention

– Halle Becerra, Waxahachie

– Lydia Brooks, Milford

– Jerzie Bryant, Mid. Heritage

– Lili Garcia, Ferris

– Aliyah Harden, Red Oak

– Leah Harris, Ennis

– Tessa Henry, Ovilla Christian

– Sadie Hinz, Italy

– Markia Houston, Milford

– Morgan McAlister, Maypearl

– Landri Schreier, Midlothian

– Keri Scott, Italy

– Elise Stafford, Mid. Heritage

– Taysie Trejo, Maypearl

– Kadia Ward, Midlothian

– Tatyana Williams, Ferris

– Ziria Wright, Ferris